Is this the end of Me and KPOP? Part 1

Okay maybe the title is an exaggeration, but none the less it sums up how I feel. I began my love affair with Kpop music years ago behind the backs of Jpop and Mando-pop (oh how I betrayed these two) It all started with Hero of TVXQ, whose voice I will never forget and whose unaging

vampire looks are my favorite. But over the years, there have been many things I have come to dislike about Kpop and I really want to share it with everyone, and also get your opinions.  So here is the first reason why I have moved away from Kpop a little.

1) The Golden Era of KPOP is Over

Some people will tell you that the golden era of Kpop was during the 90’s. When Seo Taji and the Boys, H.O.T, G.o.d and so many other first time Kpop groups came out.  Now some of you may have grown up with these groups, and then there will be some fakers who have just gotten into them but swear by their brilliance. For me I never saw these groups and honestly won’t listen to them. As an international fan the golden era all started out withTVXQ and lasted until  Super Juniors Big Break with Sorry Sorry leading into the Platinum era of Kpop.

This ear was about talent, each member undisputedly had an ability that made them worthy of being in a group. Maknae was not a position in the group that meant being a giant baby. Maknae was the youngest but also just as talented if not more talented than the rest of the group. Leader was a position given to the one who lead the group but also had talent and skills, it was not given to someone that just needed a title in the group. A rapper was a rapper, not just a pretty boy who needed a title, and the same goes for the dancers of the group. Positions in groups used to mean something. Today positions are given out left and right to people just to fill space and give purpose to a member who may not be talented at all. This was a time that no matter how hard the choreography you sang live, no matter how bad you were you sang live. This was the time that groups gave it their all and never had anything easy. They built kpop and made it into a phenomenon.  Because of their hard work and determination, they set the stage for groups to work hard, but for success to come easier, because groups today do not need to work for fans, their fans come almost instantly especially if they are backed by bigger companies.

I miss this era of kpop  I will never forget these two  groups especially. I know there were others that led the way as well during the golden age but these two were my first glimpse of Kpop groups, and I thank them for making my time with Kpop as special as it was. Unless new groups can debut with the same tenacity and a great skill set then I assume I only have a few years left with Kpop as it seems all my groups are on their way out. Old groups hardly come back anymore and when they do its for such a short period of time, and the music is not as great.  But the memories I have of these groups will last a lifetime.

I know people will say to get over it and these groups have been gone for a while, but its not that simple. Like when Backstreet boys broke up the first time, it was an end to a part of my childhood and just became a memory. Even when Backstreet Boys got back together it was not the same, I felt nostalgic it was not the same feeling I had when they were together originally. So even if these two got back together it won’t be the same, it will be a happy moment, but their being together will be nostalgic and more of a reflection on a closed chapter in my life. This is sad, but inevitable for all groups well except for Johnny’s group SMAP who will be together until they die.

*Bonus*

I love this compilation it makes me happy and sad. Mostly happy though.

Leave a comment